🥾 Walk 167 - Old Windsor, Thames Path and Runnymede
Starting the walk with a group of 14 we set off from the recreation park, Robin Willis-Way in Old Windsor making our way to the A308. Crossing here we to continued along footpaths leading through a housing estate and paths round the local church to the River Thames.
Following the Thames Path towards Runnymede we admired the large properties on either side of the riverbank and various boats on the water. The group stopped at the Magna Carta exhibition being held by the University of Brunel on it's last day, providing information on the history of the charter.
Continuing along the river there was a Regatta being held with much activity from the many clubs involved and spectators enjoying the races and refreshment tents. Passing the Pleasure-grounds there was opportunity for ice-cream and WC stop before final leg along the Thames and start of some light rain.

Turning off the riverside at the lock we crossed over into the Runnymede meadows and woodland, heading towards Coopers Hill slopes and a steady ascent leading up to the RAF Commonwealth Memorial. This beautiful building set among pristine gardens is a fitting tribute to the many servicemen and women lost in the 2nd World War and the many individual photos, letters and stories left by families make powerful reading. Views from the large picture windows and rooftop are far and wide taking in the river, Wraysbury reservoirs and Heathrow. We stopped here for lunch appropriately timed as we had a heavy downpour, but were able to enjoy the peaceful surroundings in comfort.
The rain eased on leaving and with spells of sunshine headed towards the village green of Englefield there taking footpaths over fields to a main road, crossing over into woodland leading back to Runnymede and the President John F Kennedy Memorial.
The memorial and surrounding acre of land was given by the Queen to citizens of USA in 1965 designed by Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe and made of Portland stone. An American scarlet oak tree and Hawthorne bush sit nearby and path to the right lead to seats of contemplation where visitors can rest. The steps of individuality lead down from the memorial back to the meadow.

Here we found the new static exhibit of lovely decorative chairs commemorative of the gathering for sealing of Magna Carta in 1215, and nearby the memorial designed by Sir Edward Maufe, erected in 1975 by the American bar Association.
At the edge of the meadow is the Fairhaven Memorial Lodges designed by Sir Edward Lutyens commissioned by Lady Fairhaven as memorial to her husband Sir Urban Broughton MP, who bought Runnymede in 1928 to safeguard it's future.
One of the lodges used by the National Trust is a Tea House, shop and washroom facilities. Here we enjoyed afternoon tea and home-made cakes outside in the sunshine. Suitably refreshed we traced our steps back along the Thames path to our starting point at the recreation park. See our route on Bing Maps.

We completed 10½ miles, having opted not to take in the pub visit. This easy-moderate level walk was varied, historic and picturesque with many stopping points and facilities on the way.

Thank you to Kathy for providing this write-up and Julia for providing the photos.
📸 Back to Volume 12
Return to volume index